New goodies, part 3

I ordered an extension table for my sewing machine to give me a bigger working area and it’s arrived! With my previous quilts, I found that I had to hold them up to stop them dragging and pulling on the needle during the quilting, so I’m hoping the extension table will help take the weight a bit. Roses for Rosa is ready for quilting so I’ll be able to test the theory today!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy
    Oct 04, 2009 @ 14:26:21

    Have you tried moving your machine to your dining room table? I have tried that the last few times and it works much better. I have an extension table too but it seems like putting it on the big table helps the weight problem.

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Oct 04, 2009 @ 17:20:19

      I would love to do that although as I live in a small flat, I don’t have a dining room so quilt at the kitchen table (and it’s only 29″ square)! But hubby has been informed that when we move somewhere bigger, it must have room for a sewing room 🙂 I don’t think he’ll have any objections though, given how he occasionally has to eat standing up if all my quilt stuff is on the table!

      Reply

  2. Cheryl Arkison
    Oct 08, 2009 @ 04:41:41

    The bigger the quilt, the harder the challenge… I am working on a piece and I have it draped over the dining room table and my shoulders as I work. I’ve found a way that works for me to take the weight and still leave my hands free to move the quilt. But it’s a workout!

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Oct 08, 2009 @ 19:54:20

      Yep, I’m with you on the shoulder drape idea – it definitely helps take some of the drag out of the quilt. And you’re not wrong with saying it’s a workout. I’ve mentioned to a couple of people that I’ve been quilt-wrestling lately, but they don’t really believe that it can be that much hard work!

      Reply

  3. Cristin
    Oct 08, 2009 @ 12:41:46

    Once I got an extension table for my Janome, its like heaven, seriously! You’ll still need a BIG table for quilting, but the extrension table gives your hands room to lay flat and move the quilt around. Here’s a link to mine – if you can spot it behind Hazel 😉
    http://cristinwilson.blogspot.com/2009/06/cute-cute-things-hazel.html
    Cheers!

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Oct 08, 2009 @ 19:51:12

      I’m totally loving my extension table. It’s like you say – that extra space for keeping things flat. I had a peek at yours (Hazel is very cute!) and that was a really lucky find!

      Reply

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 18 other subscribers