Punching butterflies

Towards the end of last year, I was quite light on the making a blogging front but I did get a few things done that I want to share. I’d pinned some wonderful paper punch arty thingies, like this and this, on Pinterest and thought I’d try my own version.

butterflies_framed

I cut the card to size, marked the locations of the butterflies with pencil then punched the butterflies and stuck them on. To give the butterflies a bit of lift I used thick sticky pads and bent their wings up a bit. That’s really all there was to it!

butterflies_finished3

All in all it was a pretty cheap project. The frame came from Ikea, the white card and foam sticky dots from Hobbycraft and the butterflies were punched from paint colour cards.

butterflies_colourcards

I do l.o.v.e. how this turned out. I decided one of our bookcases could do with some arty things to break up the books, and this fits the bill so well. I didn’t want to end with a crappy photo of my bookshelf after all the pretty butterfly ones, so I had some fun with picassa filters and came up with this…

butterflies_bookshelf

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chip
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 03:13:31

    spotted some Donahue references in that photo-edit. Just lovely. We are so glad to have references to the Taylors in our home. P.s. I am looking for a version of Stay Calm and Carry On for our new closet. Would love for you to design and personalize one for us.

    Ideas..?

    Stay calm and don’t beat the children…
    Stay calm and skype your friends…
    Stay loose, drink more juice?

    Much love.

    Reply

  2. Chip
    Feb 05, 2012 @ 03:14:47

    No…I’ve got it.
    It could read…

    Stay dressed… old people are coming.

    Reply

  3. ashley
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 18:57:29

    Okay…. that butterfly creation is simply sublime! Well done!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

