Roses for Rosa – layout ideas

Well I got the blocks for Roses for Rosa done this weekend. They went together really quickly and I only had to rip 5 seams šŸ™‚ The blue ones took a wee bit longer as I wanted to make sure the big prints were spread evenly across the blocks so that I wouldn’t end up with one of just castles and one of only brown-haired fairies! I’m really pleased how they turned out:

Roses for Rosa - blue blocks

My cousin was over for dinner yesterday so we had a play with the layout. She came up with this one:

Roses for Rosa - ordered layout

and I came up with this:

Roses for Rosa - random layout

I think I’m tending towards my layout. I like the randomness of it and I think the strong pink colour in a single row, as in the first layout, is too much pink in one place. I dunno…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy
    Sep 21, 2009 @ 22:20:53

    I love your pinwheels!! That is one of my favorite patterns, Yours look great. I love the random way you arranged them. Good Job!!

    Reply

  2. Kris
    Sep 21, 2009 @ 22:35:52

    These came out great! I agree with you that I like the random layout better. šŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. therealnanann
    Sep 22, 2009 @ 02:45:37

    Just came over from Workshop in Progress — totally digging your layout. I’m all about the random!

    Also love those blue whirligigs — such cute fairies/princesses!

    Reply

  4. whatktmadenext
    Sep 22, 2009 @ 20:58:32

    Thanks guys! Random it is (which I’m happy with because that what I like too!)

    Reply

  5. Cheryl Arkison
    Sep 24, 2009 @ 18:57:55

    Are you still doing the purple strips? That would change the way I, personally, viewed the layout. That pink really pops, so if you went with your cousins I would move the inidividual one down one spot on the diagonal. And maybe mess up the the other ones so it is only the pink that is formal and the other ones are random. That is, unless you’ve already sewn it all together!

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Sep 24, 2009 @ 20:27:20

      I decided against the purple strips. in the end. I liked them in my mockup but they just didn’t really look right in real life!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

