I think I’m ruining Roses for Rosa

Hmmm, I don’t like to write this down because it makes it seem more real, but I have a horrible feeling I’m ruining Roses for Rosa. I started outline quilting the white whirligigs using a variegated thread in pink, blue, yellow and green. It is a perfect colour match for the fabrics and I thought it would tie the whole thing together and highlight that the white fabric forms whirligigs as well.

But it doesn’t seem to be working out in the way I pictured it. From anything further away than a couple of cm’s, you can’t see the colours in the thread. All that’s obvious is the colour changing from light to dark and it just looks kinda odd. Plus the yellow fades into the white so it looks patchy as well, like the line stops and starts.

I’ve started though and I can’t really change the plan. I thought that it might look better once I’d done more but I’m not convinced and I’m a bit gutted because I really loved the top and the backing and now it’s not right. I’m pinning my hope that once it’s completely done it’ll look better. Fingers crossed…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. arlijohn
    Oct 08, 2009 @ 19:46:15

    I’ve had those moments before. If it does turn out to be a problem perhaps you might consider adding more quilting.

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Oct 08, 2009 @ 19:49:47

      Yeah, that might be a good idea. Perhaps if I did another couple of outlines in each whirligig it might bring out the colours in the thread a bit more. Thanks for the idea 🙂

      Reply

  2. Nancy
    Oct 09, 2009 @ 12:22:07

    I don’t know how far along you are but if you are really unhappy with it, take it out. I can’t tell you how many times I have done that. I got really angry at my husband one morning and spent 2 hours taking out quilting. I was over what ever made me mad when I finished!

    Reply

  3. Cheryl Arkison
    Oct 16, 2009 @ 01:48:24

    Can you post a pic? It would help to see. I’ve had that problem before too. Once I didn’t fix it. The next time I unsewed and tried a different thread.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

