The Pointy Zigzag Quilt of Torture

I’ve been working on a quilt, provisionally called “Baby Quilt 4”. That was a bit of a boring name, so I finally found a better one. So here is “The Pointy Zigzag Quilt of Torture”, all nice and ready for basting…

Unfortunately I didn’t really think through the directions to iron the seams in, so all those zigzags have nice bunches of seams right at the zigzag points. The result is more akin to a bed of nails than a baby blanket so it’s definitely not suitable for a gift!

This is getting chalked up to experience and I just need to come up with present plan B!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. elle
    Feb 08, 2010 @ 22:33:34

    It looks pretty good. You could avoid the thick corners by MQing an out line 1/2 inch on each side of the seam that separates the dark and the striped fabrics. Nothing says you ‘have to’ stitch through the ditches or in them. If you are set to go in the ditch, when no one is around to hear, you can hammer those clumps to soften them. I do that if the blue jean seam looks intimidating.

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Feb 09, 2010 @ 19:55:55

      Thanks Elle! I’ll definitely finish it off, although I’m really not convinced my machine can get through the quilt top plus the wadding and backing. It was definitely struggling in places just putting the top together. But maybe once it’s done and washed a few times it’ll soften up. Fingers crossed 😉

      Reply

  2. josafe
    Feb 26, 2010 @ 16:23:59

    It is great piece of work and thanks for showing the photo. I like the design and wonder what these pins for

    Reply

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 18 other subscribers