Never again (well not for several months!)

I took part in my first Friday Night Sew In last night. I’ve been wanting to join in for ages but never found the time but when the sign-ups came out this month, I decided I would make time. I’ve been counting down till Friday all week and even had an easy dinner planned so I could jump right in and get sewing!

I ended up making a taggie for friends who’ve just had their second son. I usually make them from one square of minky and one of velour, but as I was running low on velour, I bordered a square of that in some cute baby fabric.

For a change, I managed to get the ribbons all pretty straight. Normally there’s at least one at a completely wonky angle, necessitating unpicking, resewing and swearing (not necessarily in that order…). But to make up for the ribbon non-wonkyness, the velour was out to get me last night!

First off I forgot it’s not cotton so managed to melt it to my iron. Then it kept slip-sliding as I was sewing seams so nothing lined up correctly. The whole process was a great reminder of why I don’t make these things regularly! I leave enough time for the pain to be forgotten, then think “oh, I know, I’ll make a taggie!”, LOL. I’m sure I’ll make another one as they make great pressies. It’s just it won’t happen for another 6 months!

Stats:

  • 9″ finished
  • 3 ribbons down each side
  • Wide ribbons were cut to 4.5″, thin ones were 5″
  • Finished with 2 rows of top stitching
8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sheryl Scholte
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 09:12:58

    well done

    Reply

  2. Nancy
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 11:11:25

    A friend of my daughter in law made one of these for our oldest grandson. He liked it fine but the younger one loves it. He always wants it when he naps at my house and believe me I will give him whatever he wants if he will take a nap!

    Reply

  3. Debbie
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 14:15:30

    I was a first-timer last night too! Cute project you worked on!

    Reply

  4. Peg
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 14:17:20

    Okay, I have to ask – what’s a taggie? This looks intriguing, but I can’t tell from the pics what exactly it is, or how it’s used. LOL!

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Apr 16, 2011 @ 16:11:06

      Hi Peg! Good question! It’s two squares of fabric sewn together with ribbon loops sticking out of the edges. Babies apparently like sucking and feeling the ribbon and my fried says she uses it to play peek-a-boo with her daughter!

      Reply

  5. ImperaMagna
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 18:15:26

    Congrats on your first successful FNSI! Love the baby fabric…. and I am a bit afraid to mess with Minkie… *lol*

    Reply

  6. rhymit61
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 03:58:03

    It does sound like a great baby gift. Thank you for sharing this info. I learned something new. I never heard of a taggie before.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

