56 and growing

Wahoo, I’ve made 56 squares of my Blue Block Blanket! 56 seems like an odd number to celebrate, but it’s the number of different colour combinations I can make from eight colours and means each one of those 56 squares is unique.

Well, unique-ish. Apparently I had a blip in my ability to tick off each colour combination as it was done and made an extra one. Ooops.

56 squares really isn’t enough for a blanket though. It’s probably not really enough for a blanket to keep my feet warm! So I’m going to make another 56. And they’ll all be unique too as I’m going to rotate the positions of the colours. So in the above pic the rounds are Aspen, Aster, Teal, Aspen but next time, I’ll move all the colours round by one, making it Aster, Teal, Aspen, Aster. Simples.

And just because I’m so pleased with getting this far, here’s another pic!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sue
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 19:54:00

    doing the same thing with lime, sweet pea, turquoise, sky, teal. but what color to use to join is the BIG question!

    love your colors!

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Apr 14, 2011 @ 20:06:23

      That sounds like an awesome colour combo. Do you have any pics anywhere? And yes, I totally agree the big question is the joining colour. Oh and whether or not to do a border!

      Reply

  2. Katrin W.
    May 02, 2011 @ 19:12:39

    Your grannys look very nice. I just started to crochet, and I am working on a granny blanket as well.
    KATRIN W.

    Reply

  3. Juliadus
    May 02, 2011 @ 19:31:32

    Nice colors!

    Reply

  4. Esther
    May 03, 2011 @ 09:36:16

    Oh, this will make a gorgious blanket! The yarn seems so nice and soft!
    Esther.

    Reply

  5. priscilla
    May 04, 2011 @ 19:07:42

    very pretty !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

