Continuing with the pink obsession…

I’ve been doing a bit of a spring restyle over here in whatktmadenext land and I’ve got a nice new theme all set up! My last one was okay, but it never really felt like me. In fact none of the WordPress themes really felt like me. So I decided it was time to do something myself!

I don’t know how it works with Blogger, but with WordPress, you can customise a theme by adding your own CSS (the bit in charge of fonts, layouts, colours etc) to an existing theme. You can’t change the structure of the theme, so I can’t change the wording of buttons etc, but it’s still pretty powerful. To see what I mean, take a look at the Koi theme. That’s what my one’s based on. I’m still amazed by how different something can look given they’re the same thing behind the scenes. It’s totally cool, but that’s probably my geeky side coming out!

Anyway, I loved the date format in the Koi theme. It’s funny how such a small thing swung it for me, but that’s the way it was. Over the last couple of weeks I’ve been changing fonts, colours, backgrounds etc. But it really came together this morning when I made the header image. I love, love, love it. It’s my absolute favourite header and was totally nothing like my original plan. But hey – have I mentioned I love it?!

And the pink. Ahh. So me. I bounced the design off Anna this afternoon and she did say it was too pink, so I toned it down a bit. And if you’re thinking that it doesn’t look like it’s been toned down, then you should have seen it about 6 hours ago!

So this is my new theme. I hope I’ve worked all the kinks out, but you never know. If you see something funny it would be great if you could let me know so I can sort it out.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rhymit61
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 22:10:31

    I like it.

    Reply

  2. Nancy
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 12:34:48

    Looks great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

