The trials of deciding colour combos – part 3!

In parts 1 and 2 of this saga, I’d solved a 3D sudoku puzzle and was about to pick three layers to determine for my block colours. But I had a nasty revelation! I realised that whichever 3 puzzles I picked, there were only 9 combos…

E.g. if I picked the top 3 puzzles, then if colour 1 was Aspen, colours 2 and 3 were always Aster and Turquoise. I was after more variety in the blocks so it was back to the drawing board. *sigh*

I was after for a non-random solution, with each block made out of 3 different colours. I wanted the blocks to be fairly different, preferably no two alike. So I took a trip back to my statistics classes at school (a very long time ago), particularly permutations (where a block made of [Aspen, Aster, Turquoise] is different from one made of [Turquoise, Aspen, Aster]) and combinations (where [Aspen, Aster, Turquoise] and [Turquoise, Aspen, Aster] are considered the same).

Turns out there are 504 permutations and 84 combinations of 9 colours. 504 blocks seems a bit much, but an 84 block blanket would end up as a 7×12 layout. Perfect!

So I typed out the 84 different combos and spent ages re-jigging them to get a balanced spread across colours 1, 2 and 3 i.e. not loads of blocks with Bluebell as colour 1 and only a couple with Turquoise.

And then I was ready to start. Or so I thought…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vico
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 12:07:15

    Just had to leave a comment as your trials of trying to decide a colour combo made me laugh. I’m doing my Blues/Purples African Flowered blanket and I’m going mad trying to make a colour combo that seems random but isn’t random, ha!

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Jun 26, 2011 @ 09:18:56

      Hi Vico! Non-random randomness is really hard. Glad to hear I’m not the only one in the world getting a sore head trying to work it out!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

