The trials of deciding colour combos – part 1!

So are you sitting comfortable? Well then I’ll being the saga of the colour combos…!

Having picked a block for my blanket, next up was deciding on a colour arrangement. Random? All blocks the same colours? Half the blocks in one group of colours and the other half in a different group?

I discarded random pretty quickly because it brings me out in a cold sweat! I like logic and order and that just plain does not work with random.

Enter Anna‘s husband Dave with a puzzle-based solution! He suggested I use 9 colours instead of 8 and use 3 sudoku puzzles to pick the colours. A sudoku puzzle is a 9×9 grid where every row and column contains the numbers 1 to 9, once only. If I made my blanket as 9×9 blocks (81 in total), each block would correspond to one square in the sudoku grid.

I number the colours from 1 to 9 and solve 3 sudoku puzzles. Puzzle 1 gives me the 1st colour for all 81 blocks. Puzzle 2 gives me the 2nd colour and puzzle 3 gives me the 3rd colour. So square 1 in puzzle 1 gives the 1st colour for block 1. Square 1 in puzzle 2 gives the 2nd colour for block 1. Square 1 in puzzle 3 gives the 3rd colour for block 1, and so on.

Still with me? I’ve tried to explain this to a few people and not done a great job, so yay if you’re still with me!

Anyway, it seemed like an awesome idea! I love sudoku puzzles, the blocks would look random without making me do random and should they would all have different colour combos. It seemed like the perfect solution.

So I picked Teal as my ninth colour and went in search of some sudoku puzzles…

  • Turquoise, Teal, Bluebell
  • Cloud blue, Sherbet, Aster
  • Royal, Denim, Aspen

But nothing’s that simple right…?!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne (Lily's Quilts)
    Feb 20, 2011 @ 20:15:33

    Thank you for the lovely comment on my blog – I love the sudoku idea, that is so clever!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

