Too much excitement over something so small…

I have a new toy – a Tulip Etimo crochet hook!

I was looking for a smaller hook for making my Cool Wool squares. They have to be 6″ square and I was only able to make a couple of rounds with my current hook before hitting 6″. So I decided to get something smaller.

I like hooks with a bulky handle as I find I don’t grip them so tightly so can crochet for longer. I’d read a few reviews (here and here) raving about the Etimo hooks but no-one in the UK was selling them… until now. Yarnstick sell them and have free UK delivery! They’re not cheap, but I decided to try one out and see if it was better than the Clover Soft Touch hooks I’ve been using.

My hook arrived at the weekend and I tried it out on my third Cool Wool block, and I have to say I’m liking how it’s going. It is a different shape to what I’m used to, but I’m definitely preferring it to the Soft Touch (the one at the back in the pic below). The handle is more comfortable (its a softer material rather than the hard plastic of the Soft Touch) and the hook seems to catch the yarn more easily.

It was funny though. Getting used to a new hook also made me re-evaluate how I was actually crocheting. I ended up going back to my first crochet book, Crochet Unravelled (an awesome beginner book with the same number of diagrams for lefties as for righties), and found I was doing a couple of things differently to what they suggested. So I switched things around and I’m finding everything much easier. It might be the hook, or it might be technique. But either way, I’m a happy bunny and I can definitely see more of these hooks in my future.

Oh and high praise to Yarnstick. I bought the hook late on Thursday, hoping that it would arrive in time for the weekend, and it did. Awesome, especially given that delivery was free.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 04:48:26

    Now that looks like a very nice hook!

    Reply

  2. Robin
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 17:35:57

    I’m enjoying reading about your crocheting adventures! I’ve never crocheted before, but seeing your lovely yarns, hooks, and squares is really fun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

