The Beginning of the Blue Block Blanket

#15 on my list (crochet a blanket) was always a bit of an ambitious one given that the most crochet I’ve finished is this:

With that in mind I thought I should probably make an early start on my blanket so that I’ve got lots of time to not finish it get it done in.

I was inspired by my friend Anna to start a granny strip blanket like hers but unfortunately, unlike hers, mine was turning out really curly, so I decided to cut my losses and do something different.

I figure a blanket made of lots of blocks might be more doable as I can cart it around more easily and it’s easier to change the size by adding (or more likely reducing) the number of blocks at any point.

So enter my plan for the Blue Block Blanket. A blanket made of blue blocks. Go me and my imaginative naming system. I’ve been poring over 200 Crochet Blocks for Blankets, Throws and Afghans and finally decided on Centered Square (block 55).

With a bit of help from Anna, who was amazingly patient in the face of numpty questions like “what’s a slip stitch?”, I managed to finish a test block. Ta dah!

Now I just have to pick the final colours, order the yarn and get crocheting. This 101 things malarky is going to be easy peasy…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Anna
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 21:22:27

    That’s soooooo pretty!!!! You will have that blanket finished in no time!!!!!;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

