On the hunt for my 1/4″ seam allowance

One of the things I have managed to get done recently is sort out my 1/4″ seam allowance. I had it down on my Brother Innov-is 10a, but was proving elusive on my Horizon, which wasn’t really conducive to accurate piecing!

To get it sorted, I used a method described in Jelly Roll Inspirations where you cut 3 bits of fabric, sew two together and the third along the top. If the top piece is the same length as the width of the other two then you have the correct seam allowance…

Interestingly enough, I couldn’t get a 1/4″ seam with the Horizon’s standard 1/4″ (O) foot without adjusting the needle position, so I ended up using the freebie 1/4″ foot my dealer chucked in when I bought the 10a!

Brother 1/4" foot on left, Janome Horizon 1/4" O foot on right

This is kinda good because I wasn’t keen on the O foot a) because moving the needle meant I couldn’t use the automatic needle plate converter (APC) which is designed to help with precise straight stitching, and b) because it has a seam guide which I found made it difficult to see what was going on. My Brother foot doesn’t have a guide and I can use it with the APC so I’m happy 🙂

Interestingly enough, it seems that Janome are bringing out a replacement O foot, with a different shape, as a lot of people have reported problems sewing bulky seams (which would probably be an issue for my Baby Jane blocks). As I’m not using the O foot, it doesn’t really matter, but I think the new foot is going to be shipped to all current Horizon owners, so I might get to try it out.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CitricSugar
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 05:54:32

    I have a fifteen-year-old basic kenmore that keeps its needle in the same spot and blatantly LIES to my face saying that it’s 1/4″. The foot lies, too.

    Glad you’ve found the elusive 1/4″. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Susan being Snippy
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 20:01:31

    yes, the accurate 1/4 inch is very elusive — for years, I just used a colored piece of masking tape on the bed of the machine ahead of the needle, then I bought the Janome which came with that quarter inch foot. It is pretty accurate, but like you say if more than two layers, the accuracy can be compromised…

    Reply

  3. Annabelle
    Aug 22, 2010 @ 08:19:33

    I so wish I could be so precise … I just want to create and it is all so amateurish … lucky to get the seams joined! I am new to craft and blogging (annabelleserendipity.blogspot.com) and searching for info on other sites. It has been so interesting picking up tips today from you. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

