Completed: Another cathedral window pincushion

I’ve been getting quite a few visitors to my blog looking for cathedral window pincushions and a tutorial to make one as I made one back in August last year. So I thought I would make another one and maybe try my hand at a tutorial whilst I was at it.

It’s amazing the difference a year makes. I found it so much easier to make this one and I think my stitching is much neater and less visible. It is a bit of a monster at 5″ square though – possibly more of a small doll’s cushion than a pincushion!

One of the new things this time round was machine stitching round one of the windows (the blue and brown one). I hand-stitched the other one (the pink and green one) and I’m not entirely sure which I like best. I also used a ladder stitch to close the ends up which looks a lot neater than whip stitching.

Tutorial to follow once I’ve waded through all my photos and got it written up!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CitricSugar
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 04:52:27

    You make these look much less intimidating and much more like I might attempt one! Can’t wait for the tutorial!

    Actually, seeing them in pincushion form makes me wonder how they’d look large-scale as throw cushions…

    Reply

  2. The Blog Team
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 05:16:29

    I’d love a tutorial for these – I haven’t tried them and they look way too difficult!

    Reply

  3. Anna Cox
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 09:14:30

    fantastic!!

    Reply

  4. Nana
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 12:39:45

    Love a tutorial on these.

    Reply

  5. Lizzet
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 15:41:05

    Lovely pincushions!!! They all are so neat 🙂 love your choice of fabrics.

    Reply

  6. ashley
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 21:24:08

    ooh! You have gotten so good! Can’t wait to see the tutorial. I have a baby blanket topper made of these that Chip’s great grandmother made and I am dying to see how she made them!

    Reply

  7. jodi
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 14:28:52

    One of your photos has been featured on my website! ;o) Thanks for all your inspiration! http://www.sewpictureperfect.com

    Reply

  8. Susan being Snippy
    Jul 31, 2010 @ 01:25:59

    when your machine stitches are so beautifully done, I definately prefer the machine sewn windows. It has been many years since I worked on cathedral window. My mother-in-law taught me this pattern back in the early 1980’s and she said her mom taught her in the mid 1930’s, so it is a pattern that has been around many many years…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

