The great right white hunt!

Thanks for the suggestions on where to go with my scorched Baby Jane blocks. It was good to get a reality check as I was about to scrap the lot and start from scratch! But I think I’ve got a plan of attack now.

First off, I’m going to find a true white fabric and use that for the remaining blocks. I’m also going to redo I-1, L-7 and B-12 which are the top three in this pic:

I’m not keen on the fabric in I-1 as a Baby Jane fabric. I think there’s too much white in it and it hides the block pattern. The scorching in L-7 is really obvious to me and as it’s a simple block, I can quickly redo it. B-12 is also really simple so it’s getting the redo treatment too.

I’m not redoing the complicated ones (A-2 and C-10 – the bottom two in the pic). I’ll see how bad they look if and when I get the rest of the blocks finished and redo if I’m not happy.

So that solution sounds easy enough, the only problem is finding the right white. I thought Kona cotton might be the answer because if I could get my hands on a Kona Colour Card, I would be able to pick a white to match the existing one. But I’ve been on the hunt for one of these for a while and no-one in the UK was selling them… until Thursday.

Simply Solids now sell them so I immediately snaffled one up and delivery was so speedy that when it appeared in the mail I wasn’t expecting it and couldn’t think what was in the package, LOL! Isn’t it just so pretty…

I could look at the colours all day!

But the whites are the important section…

It looks like Kona White (1387)  is the right white, so I just have to order some of that and I’ll be back in business!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. elle
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 00:54:16

    Sounds like a good plan!

    Reply

  2. Nana
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 11:44:49

    Is it kind of like when you go to the paint store to chose paint? You never realize there were so many different shades.

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Jul 05, 2010 @ 19:06:26

      LOL, yes! I never knew there were so many colours until I needed to touch up the walls at home!

      Reply

  3. Kris
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 14:14:43

    Good luck! I would recommend trying to find a place that sells the white in 60″ wide. It’s usually about the same price so you get more practically for free! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Robin
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 21:07:30

    Awesome! I’m glad to hear that you’ve found some matching white. I’m jealous of your Kona color card… very cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

