Scorched…

I was having a look at my Baby Jane blocks recently as I like to do, just because they’re so cute! Anyway I noticed something bad – scorch marks. L-7 is the most obvious:

I don’t know if you can see it, but the corner squares are whiter than the other “white” pieces which are scorched. There are five of fifteen affected, and naturally two of the most complicated (A-2 and C-10) are in the group.

I really don’t know how I’ve missed this. Perhaps because they were made in winter the light wasn’t as good as it is now? It’s really obvious now though 😦

The white is an Ikea “Dvala” sheet, a tip I picked up here. Anna has also been using one of these in her current project and has also got scorch marks so I think I can safely say that it’s not our irons. We also bought ours separately, months apart, so I don’t think it’s down to a dodgy batch.

I have a feeling that the fabric is just not good enough quality to withstand lots of ironing. It’s maybe ok for blocks which don’t need much pressing, but not for ones with lots of seams. One thing’s for sure though – I won’t be using a Dvala sheet again, which is a shame because they’re great value and so many people seem to use them without problem.

I went to my LQS and picked up some white fabric. But when I got that home I found it’s a different white to the Ikea sheet. The Ikea sheet is really white, but this fabric is almost cream even though the bolt said white.

So what to do? I would really, really appreciate some input because I am completely undecided on what to do. My current thinking is one of the following:

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nana
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 12:04:40

    I would keep the blocks you have. There is no way I would redo them. My aunt made a quilt and used lots of black, when she finished the top she noticed that one piece was a dark dark navy. It added to the charm of the quilt.

    Reply

  2. elle
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 13:29:58

    Tough one! But this quilt will have a lot of blocks. Maybe you should try for a few different whites so the few that stand out to you now will become a few of many. One more but. If you are not going to appreciate the charm of a few odd ones, then change them before you go too much further. Another option is to continue as you want reserving the decision to redo for a bit later.

    Reply

  3. Robin
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 21:05:44

    That’s a serious bummer! I think though that you don’t need to re-do them. It’s only a few blocks. Think of them as character marks. 😛 Frankly, there’s a good chance that somewhere along the line, you would have run into this issue anyway with a few blocks (I know I have a couple where that happened).

    I voted for finding a true white and then going from there. But I also like elle’s idea of using a few different whites. I ended up doing that myself because I couldn’t find more of the original one I chose and after 200 blocks, I’m really loving the look of it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

