H-4: Abbey’s Eyes

So having prep’d this one back at the start of May, I finally got around to sewing it last night! I thought I’d done ok, but then I saw this H-4 by biscuitnrabbi and I’m feeling a bit deflated. The seams are so precise and everything look crisp, sharp and lines up. I don’t really want to redo this one, but now I kinda feel that I could maybe do better. Although I think I’ll probably end up leaving it as is and if it still bugs me down the line, then I’ll redo it…

  • Pieces: 3
  • Fabric: Pretty Pink Lottsa Dots from the Love U range for Moda by Deb Strain
  • Description: Hand appliqué using the “freezer paper underneath” technique
  • Notes: Aaargh! I’d forgotten how much sewing pointy points drive me insane. I think they’re maybe getting easier though. Maybe…!
5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. elle
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 20:36:00

    You do need some quality control but… 8^) The one block that’ll drive you crazy will be one of many. Quilting and washing will change a lot of these spots that are causing you angst. Also remember your last blocks are going to better than your first. Where will you decide to quit redoing? I have stuff I can see the growth lines in. Even restarting after a break makes for wobbles. Cut yourself some slack and try to enjoy all these cute little, (very little, I might add) blocks. The quirks will just add to its charm. You are doing good!

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Jun 29, 2010 @ 21:11:10

      Thanks Elle 🙂 And that’s a very good point about the quilting and washing. That bit seems so far away that I’d completely forgotten about it and how much it can change things! I was saying to a friend the other day that quilting is a really forgiving hobby – what other hobby lets you get away with the odd wobble by crinkling up the final product once you’ve given it a good wash!

      Reply

  2. Nana
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 11:19:09

    I agree with Elle, do another block and see how it turns out. Part of the charm of something being handmade is that it is not perfect. I gave my daughter in law a quilt for her birthday, the snails trail one and when she held it up I realized one square is turned the wrong way. I had looked at that quilt on my design wall and never seen the mistake. At that point there was no taking it out!!

    Reply

  3. Sarah Curry
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 09:07:21

    hey hun, don’t stress about this block. It looks fantastic even if the seams are a tiny bit off.

    Remember everyone of these baby Jane blocks is something completly new for you so just enjoy the experience of learning and feel proud for each one you complete.

    You’re doing an awesome job!!

    Reply

  4. Robin
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 17:32:07

    You should definitely NOT feel at all deflated. The block looks great– and by the time you’re done and it’s sitting with the rest, I think you’ll be fine with it too. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

