QoT UFO to WIP

Do you think I could fit more TLA’s in that title?! I must have been desperate to sew after last week’s break because my QoT (Quilt of Torture) is off the UFO list and back to being a WIP…

I am just so loving the colours of this one! The turquoise binding is just fab and that stripy fabric – love it!!

Having the QoT ready for quilting was kinda handy because it’s not a gift so I could play around with the dual feed device on my Horizon without worrying about messing up something important. And I’m liking what I found – the dual feed was so smooth and that extra space was utter bliss 🙂

Getting the binding on was a bit more interesting though. I had a total mare of a time getting my binding strips together. I guess I’m out of practice, but my quick unpick was getting way too much use for comfort!

Then stitching the binding in place was tricky because the dual feed foot doesn’t have a 1/4″ mark like my walking foot did for my Brother 10a. I’m not entirely sure what I’m going to do about that because it was really hard keeping the line straight as there wasn’t a suitable edge or mark on the foot to line up against.

A bit of investigation suggests there may be a 1/4″ dual feed foot but I can’t find information to say for sure if the foot works with the 7700 or just the previous 6600 model. I think a trip to the sewing machine man might be in order…

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anna Cox
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 11:03:33

    loving the binding!!!! (if you are going to the Sewing Machine Man – please can I come too!!!!)

    Reply

  2. Nana
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 11:59:18

    Love that turquoise!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

