Stopping for safety reasons…

Not really the error message you want to see from your sewing machine, is it, especially when it’s new, shiny and very expensive. But I guess if I’ve just made my needle look like this, then it’s just as well it stopped.

I thought I’d have a bit of fun and have my first attempt at FMQ on my Janome 7700. I dropped the feed dogs, selected stitch 100 (which I thought was the right one for doing a nice wiggly line) and the machine told me to attach foot QB-H which is the big monster FMQ foot.

I got the foot on (it’s a bit of a faff manoeuvring it around the dual feed device, but I got there in the end), hit the start button and the machine took one stitch then the needle position shifted and it hit the foot. Not ideal, really.

So I went back to the manual, which admittedly I should have read a bit more thoroughly. But I kinda assumed that the machine wouldn’t tell me to put on a foot which would end up bending the needle. I guess I won’t be making that mistake again.

What I think happened is that stitch 100 is a wiggly stitch that should be done with the feed dogs up. To FMQ, I should have used stitch 1 (straight stitch) with the feed dogs down. It also seems that if the feed dogs are down, the machine will say to use foot QB-H, regardless of the stitch selected and even if this will result in the needle hitting the foot. I’ll have to remember that.

Anyway, I’ve never bent a needle before this and it kind of freaked me out so went back to straight stitch and made some pin cushions. I’ll come back to FMQ once I’ve plucked up some more courage!

Oh and when I showed hubby the red one, he said “great wonky log cabin”. LOL, I guess he’s picked up more quilting stuff than I realised!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nana
    Jun 06, 2010 @ 21:44:22

    That must be one powerful machine to bend that needle like that. I have broken needles before but never bent one like that. Cute pin cushions and yes it is a great wonky log cabin.

    Reply

  2. Lynne
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 05:07:27

    Oh those pin cushions are so sweet!

    Reply

  3. Anna Cox
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 08:23:16

    loving my wonky log cabin pin cushion!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

