Are you sitting comfortably?

So I thought a story on how on earth I ended up with a Janome 7700 would be in order. Are you sitting comfortably? You probably need to be because this is kinda long, even after some brutal edits. Man I’m wordy when I get going! Anyway, my first machine was (and still is) a Brother Innov-is 10a. Isn’t it cute?!

Back when I bought it, I’d just started quilting and didn’t want to fork out for a big, expensive machine on the back of having sewn a few squares of fabric together! So when my dealer showed me the 10a I realised it was the perfect machine for me. It’s so easy to use, sews really well and I could decide whether I wanted or needed anything bigger. Plus it’s pink 🙂

A year on and although I really love my 10a, I’ve started wanting to make big quilts and the 10a just isn’t big enough for that. So I started researching bigger machines and listing my must-have features, with the aim of saving up to get something bigger this time next year.

But then word starting filtering through the interweb of a new machine, with a whopping 11″ of space to the right of the needle and 5 bright LED lights. Yes, 5. For me, these are the killer features of this machine. Forget the oodles of stitches, forget the gazzilions of buttonholes. My top must-have features are lots of space and lots of lights and this machine has both of those in spades.

The more I looked, the more I fell in lust, but it was so out of my budget it was unreal. But then, totally out of the blue, my Dad rang and mentioned that he’d been saving some money for when I turned 21 (now before you get a highly unrealistic impression of my age, let’s just say that Dad’s been hanging on to the money for a while. A long while). But what a truly awesome, generous surprise. Thanks Dad!

After that, I started thinking about it more seriously and when I found out that Janome have a £500 off deal right now (yes, you did read that right – that’s about 1/3rd off), suddenly things became do-able. So I booked an appointment for a test drive and rang hubby several hours later to ask him to come pick me and my new machine up!

When I opened the box, hubby’s first comment was “it’s fricking enormous!”. Then when I put it next to my current machine, he just collapsed laughing (I think the laughter had a tinge of hysteria though)!

I’m not planning on getting rid of my 10a. It’s a great wee machine and perfect for taking to crafty club as the 7700 weighs a tonne and I don’t think carting it around that often would be good for it (or me either come to that!). So I’m now in a two sewing machine family. One car, but two sewing machines. I think I’ve got my priorities right!

Oh and the best bit of all? When I told Dad I was going to put the money towards a new machine, he told me that my Granny would be very proud. She was a big sewer (even made her own wedding dress) and it means a lot that he thinks she’d be happy with what I’m doing right now 🙂

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 20:50:25

    I soooo want to ne happy for you but jealousy i just spoiling it for me! Good for your Dad and I hope your granny is beaming down at you!

    Reply

  2. felicity
    Jun 04, 2010 @ 21:07:06

    Congratulations on your new beauty! The events that led to it were so serendipitous, it was obviously meant to be.

    Reply

  3. Anna Cox
    Jun 05, 2010 @ 09:05:03

    that monster will have the baby jane whipped up in no time at all!!!

    Reply

  4. Nana
    Jun 06, 2010 @ 14:11:58

    Wonderful story, aren’t Dads the greatest.

    Reply

  5. Muriël
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 09:16:36

    Congratulations!!! I’m also a bit jealous…
    I think after the summer I should also get a new, bigger, better machine. I’m off to do my research!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

