I am armed…

… and here are the weapons I’m going to use in the battle to sort out my wrists!

  • Weapon 1: Mouse

I was using a bog-standard symmetrically shaped mouse at both home and work. My physio suggested getting an ergonomic one that would tilt my hand to the right and as I never need much convincing to go on a gadget hunt, I decided to take his advice!

At bit of research suggested that a vertical mouse would be the ultimate in ergonomics, but after trying something similar at work, I found it really hard to use precisely because you use your whole arm to move the mouse, rather than just the wrist. Whilst this is probably a good thing for sorting out my wrist, it just wasn’t practical for getting work done, so I went for a more standard mouse that is shaped to tilt my hand slightly. So far it seems ok, and I haven’t had any pain at work this week, which is good šŸ™‚

  • Weapon 2: Rotary cutter

I cut left-handed and although my left wrist isn’t too bad right now, I went on the hunt to see if there was such a thing as an ergonomic rotary cutter, and it turns out there is! The Ergo 2000 is an ergonomic cutter from Martelli and I managed to find a shop in the UK that sold them. Well, they only sold the left-handed ones, but that was fine for me.

It looks kinda odd, but it fits perfectly in the palm of my hand and keeps my wrist straight so I’m looking forward to trying it out. The only worry is that I can’t find anywhere in the UK that sells the blades. The packaging says that other blades can be used if they have a circular centre hole but I haven’t found anything like that either. I guess if the worst comes the the worst, I can get the blades shipped from the US.

  • Weapon 3: The Gypsy Gripper

I had this delivered to work and had some interesting reactions from my colleagues when I opened it up, because it kind of looks like an oversized toy telephone receiver when turned on its side! If you haven’t come across the Gypsy Gripper, it’s a handle which can be temporarily attached to rulers, mainly so that your hand is away from the rotary cutter in case you slip whilst cutting.

I got it so that I won’t need to hold my ruler with my hand flat on the ruler and my wrist at a 90 degree angle. Instead, my wrist will be nice and straight. Both my physio and a commenter on my previous post suggested getting something like this so fingers crossed it’ll help.

Having bought all this stuff, I still plan on staying away from rotary cutting for another week or two. But it’s made me a lot happier knowing that I have tools that should help once I start up again. Until then, it’s embroidery for me, or possibly hexagons. There seems to be a lot of hexagon craftyness going on right now, and I’m starting to feel the need to jump on the bandwagon šŸ˜‰

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nana
    May 16, 2010 @ 22:24:42

    Very impressive. I see you are being proactive! Good for you.

    Reply

  2. ashley
    May 18, 2010 @ 14:39:13

    And I know just the person to ship you replacement blades from the US!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

