Step away from the rotary cutter

I’m having problems with my wrists again. The left one’s been slightly dodgy for ages and I hurt my right one at Christmas drying pots and it’s not been right since. I’ve been trying to convince hubby that it means I shouldn’t do any more drying up ever, but he’s not buying it! The right one’s been getting worse of late and now I’m starting to notice it at work which is not good given that my job is 100% computers.

In hindsight, making all those Baby Jane blocks last weekend was a bad idea. Rotary cutting (both using the cutter and holding down the ruler) puts my wrists in positions they’re not happy in. I kind of knew this but was ignoring it, however I’m coming to the conclusion that I need to stop doing so much crafty stuff, including a ban on rotary cutting for a few weeks 😦 I’m also going to stop doing so much on the PC in the evenings so that I’m using the mouse less.

So that I don’t go completely insane with boredom, I’m going to try some embroidery. I really enjoyed making my colour wheel** and I have the beginnings of an idea for something else. I’m also going to work on problem one from this post, and get the flat more organised.

All in all, I think May is going to be quite quiet over here. I have google reader on my phone so I can keep up with everyone’s blogs without using the PC, but I probably won’t be commenting much.

** I’m currently reading The Well of Lost Plots by Jasper Fforde. It’s got a great “explanation” of why some places use “colour” and others use “color”. Definitely worth checking out if you like inventive literary fiction…

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. elle pukalo
    May 10, 2010 @ 01:40:16

    Sorry about the wrists. Seems a common problem that I try to combat with lots of variety so the repetitive part at least is not so problematic. Not sure if it works but at least I keep doing something! 8^)

    Reply

  2. Rachel
    May 10, 2010 @ 10:25:38

    Could you get one of those suction handles for your ruler so that your wrist is on a less always position on that arm at least?

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      May 15, 2010 @ 09:41:14

      Your on the same wavelength as my physio, who also suggested this! So I bought one and fingers crossed it’ll help.

      Reply

  3. ashley
    May 10, 2010 @ 17:24:25

    wow. I will miss your posts for this month! They make me feel lazy, which in turn makes me get crafty.

    But, you should ban crafting this month anyway, and do nothing but celebrate your birthday! hugs and kisses!

    Reply

  4. Nana
    May 11, 2010 @ 20:32:56

    I didn’t realize that rotary cutters would cause all of those problems but you do need your hands. Looks like they would make an ergonomic cutter, since they have so many others things like that.

    Reply

  5. Anna Cox
    May 11, 2010 @ 21:44:39

    would crochet be the answer? I heard there is a magic loop somewhere…………………………

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      May 15, 2010 @ 09:42:20

      But if I use the magic loop, will I ever be able to make another one?! Given the difficulty in making that one, I think it may have been a once-in-a-lifetime achievement and I should possibly just frame it instead!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

