D-13: Field of Dreams

Thank you so much for all the comments on whether or not to use the aboriginal dots fabric. I really appreciate it and it definitely gave me things to think about!

I had a debate over the fabric for this block too (hmmm, this is turning into a bit of a regular occurrence!). Anyway I bought the fabric for this block thinking it would be easy to pick a block to use it in because it’s little dots rather than a big print, so it would work in the itty-bitty pieces of a Baby Jane block.

But the dots are actually spaced pretty far apart so a lot of blocks would end up with half a spot here and a quarter of one there, which doesn’t really work! I need to remember that when I next go on the hunt for Baby Jane fabric – even if it looks like a small print, if it’s spaced out I should consider it a big print.

In the end I went with a block with large pieces so that each section could show off its spots!

  • Pieces: 5
  • Fabric: Pretty Pink Lottsa Dots from the Love U range for Moda by Deb Strain
  • Description: Rotary cut and machine pieced
  • Notes: So quick and easy – the perfect after work block!
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. elle
    Apr 16, 2010 @ 02:22:09

    ah, who’d have thought little dots would be big dots. Now you are thinking! This is gonna be one cute quilt

    Reply

  2. anina
    Apr 17, 2010 @ 23:51:05

    I just discovered your blog through Flickr. A pink Baby Jane is on my list (after the pastel one, the bright one, and the red one).
    Love your blogs.

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Apr 18, 2010 @ 11:44:44

      Thanks for stopping by! Four Baby Jane’s – I am in awe. I can just about see myself finishing one, but four?! Wow.

      Reply

  3. Robin
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 02:46:27

    Very pretty! I love the dots.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

