Is this Baby Jane fabric?

Another month, another Baby Jane question! I bought this fabric (Aboriginal Dots in sweet-pea by Kaffe Fassett) for my Baby Jane quilt, but I’m not sure if it’s right.

I like it, but I’m not sure it goes with the other fabrics I’ve picked so far. This one has a very retro feel and a creamy background and the other fabrics are more modern and either pink-on-pink or pink-on-white:

When I put the blocks together, the pink fabric is put together with a white solid to make the final block, so I’m not sure if the cream background would look odd? Or maybe as the finished blocks are so tiny, it wouldn’t stand out at all? Here’s what a couple of finished blocks look like. Some will have more white than this and others will have more pink:

Baby Jane block C-1: Trooper Green's BadgeBaby Jane block A-1: Pinwheel Gone Awry

I know it’s difficult to tell from a set of (bad) blog photos, but what do people think? In or out?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ashley
    Apr 13, 2010 @ 21:00:44

    I absolutely adore this fabric! But, maybe not for this project. I agree with you that the creamy background and the more modern look of it might stand out…in a less desireable way than you might wish.

    Reply

  2. Kris
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 00:37:50

    I love that fabric and I think one of the cool things about the Jane quilt is that there are so many blocks that each fabric doesn’t need to be a perfect fit, they just all come together in the big layout. Sometimes I’ve seen people include fabrics that might seem odd at first and then they put it in the layout and it just works! I’d say keep it in and if it really stands out later, it can go on the back or something…

    Reply

  3. elle
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 03:02:12

    Cute fabric! Am I correct that there are lots of blocks in this quilt? You may not notice the colour variations when many more fabrics and blocks are added. Nuances of colour add dimension and interest to the overall quilt. BUT, if you don’t like it now, it’s unlikely you’ll like it later.

    Reply

  4. CitricSugar
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 15:09:22

    I like variation and having a fabric or two that doesn’t quite match perfectly. If you could find another fabric with a cream background and the same tone of pink, just to balance it out, I would say go for it. If you don’t end up liking the blocks as much as the others, hide these ones in corners or around the edges.
    But I agree with Elle – if you don’t like it now…

    Reply

  5. KatieQ
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 20:46:05

    This fabric is a beauty. I would try making a block of it to see if it will play well with the others. If it misbehaves, you could always use the block as part of a fabulous label for the back of the quilt.

    Reply

  6. Dale Anne
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 23:28:51

    I’m thinking the design will be lost on the little 4 inch blocks of the Dear Jane.
    LOVELY fabric tho!

    Reply

  7. Robin
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 02:22:44

    I’d use it! I think it is beautiful, and even though it doesn’t “match” the other fabrics, consider as well that your quilt is just a baby Baby Jane still… I think over time, you’ll find that it fits right in. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Kylie
    Apr 17, 2010 @ 06:18:09

    Love the fabric (can’t beat Kaffe)! Looks as tho it will work in beautifully! But sometimes just can’t tell until nearly all together. That’s the way of it!

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Apr 18, 2010 @ 11:46:17

      I love the fabric too! It’s the first bit of Kaffe in my stash and I will definitely be adding to it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

