C-12: Family Reunion & J-7: Chicken Tracks

Well the sun’s out and it’s even vaguely warm, so what am I doing? Making Baby Jane blocks! I should really be outside but I’m enjoying getting back to this project. I cut all the white squares for the various nine-patch blocks and then made C-12 and J-7.

I’ve been following Sew, Mama Sew’s quilt month and one of the posts was about pressing seams and particularly pressing seams open. I decided to give this a try on C-12 and J-7 and whilst it was kinda time-consuming, it seemed to work quite well.

C-12: Family Reunion:

  • Pieces: 49
  • Fabric: Something my Moda, maybe? *EDIT* Robin helped me out here – it’s one of Michael Miller’s Fairy Frost fabrics, maybe in bubblegum
  • Description: Rotary cut and machine pieced
  • Notes: Nice and easy – just what I needed to get myself back into my Baby Jane

J-7: Chicken Tracks

  • Pieces: 41
  • Fabric: No idea. But it’s cute!
  • Description: Rotary cut and machine pieced
  • Notes: Hey, I just realised that this block is called “Chicken Tracks” and my fabric has little birds in it. How appropriate!

I couldn’t resist a photo of the little nine-patches before they got sewn together. They’re only 2″ square!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Robin
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 15:27:35

    So happy and pink! You are really making me want to make a pink quilt now. πŸ™‚

    I think the fabric in the C-12 is a Michael Miller Fairy Frost.

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Apr 11, 2010 @ 10:28:09

      Pink quilts are good! Although the question is whether I’ll still like pink at the end of it!

      I think you’re right about the fabric – thank you πŸ™‚ I really like knowing the fabric names so it bugs me when I’ve got a “don’t know”, but as I’m buying FQs, I often don’t get the key bit of the selvedge to tell me the name.

      Reply

  2. True Blue Nana
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 20:19:56

    Cute! Is each block in the nine patch 2″ or the whole thing 2″. How are your eyes after working on small things like that? I love it!

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Apr 11, 2010 @ 10:26:30

      Each nine-patch is 2″ so each square in it is even smaller! So far my eyes are holding up, but these blocks are things to avoid when there’s not much light!

      Reply

  3. elle
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 22:29:59

    These really are pretty cute!

    Reply

  4. Karen
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 00:17:11

    Both blocks are great! Love the little chickens! So cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

