Completed: Minky & Ribbon Comforter

So my minky & ribbon comforter is done. It’s so super soft and snugly – how old do you have to be before you stop using one of these?!

I put it together by sandwiching the loops of ribbon between a square of minky and a square of velour. I then stitched round the edge before turning it the right way out and top stitching round the edge again. But everything kept shifting out of position and one of the ribbons ended up at a completely wonky angle so I don’t think this was the best approach.

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned crafty club before (where my friends Anna, Sarah and I meet up for a night of chat and crafty goodness), but I made this at crafty club and Anna was making one at the same time. Her approach was to sew all the ribbons onto the velour before sewing the velour and minky together. It seemed to work much better so next time I make one of these, I’m going to try that.

Oh and mental note for the future. I shouldn’t wear fleece when handling minky because it’s a minky fluff magnet and I was covered in the stuff by the end of the evening!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kris
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 19:07:20

    Thanks for the tip about making these! Yours sure does seem cute!

    Reply

  2. True Blue Nana
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 14:59:07

    A friend of my daughter in law made one of these for her oldest son. He didn’t care much about it but the little one loves it. I give it to him when I put him down and don’t hear a sound from him.

    Reply

  3. Robin
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 03:14:23

    LOL! Frankly, I think just about everything is a minkee fluff magnet. You just can’t escape! 🙂 Your little comforter turned out super cute– I love the soft yellow/white combo.

    Reply

  4. Anna Cox
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 09:21:10

    looks great!! Samuel LOVES his!!!! I think I might make a couple more soon!!! (need more ribbon! – you got any? lol!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

