WIP: Baby Quilt 6

I’ve finally got back on the quilting wagon, with Baby Quilt 6 or “what, I need to rethink this entire thing again” as I’ve affectionately called it…!

It was originally going to look like this, but with modern fabric so kind of traditional and modern. But after seeing some pics of the wee one in his new home, I realised that his parents are far more modern that I thought so my traditional idea just wasn’t going to cut it.

So after redesigns one, two and three, where I was trying to fit the fabric I’d already bought into a completely different layout, I ended up deciding on doing something inspired by this.

Redesign four happened when I started cutting fabric and realised that I didn’t have enough of the solid so had to add another one (I kind of re-purposed a pillowcase!). And there was nearly redesign five when I thought I didn’t have enough of one of the patterned fabrics, but it turned out I did, just!

All in all, I’d been waking up for weeks thinking about this quilt, debating fabric, layouts etc and by last weekend I’d absolutely had enough. There really is only so long that you can procrastinate before it does your head in, so I spent last weekend in a frenzy of activity putting the thing together! I’ve still got a bit of the binding to sew down, but other than that it’s all good and best of all, there are no more decisions to be made 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. True Blue Nana
    Mar 23, 2010 @ 22:15:49

    The picture looks great. I can’t imagine what you didn’t like about it.

    Reply

  2. Anna Cox
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 14:17:30

    it looks fab now!!!! bet you are just glad you dont have to think about it any more!!

    Reply

  3. True Blue Nana
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 20:23:12

    Can you tell me where I can find the fabric you used in the cars and ponies quilt? I love that fabric and a good friend of mine is having a grandson. I love what you did with it and would like to do something similar. thanks.

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Mar 25, 2010 @ 21:42:25

      Most of the fabric came from Ikea. I think the cars fabric is called VITAMINER BIL and the border fabrics came from a duvet set which I cut up. The cars fabric was decent but the bed set was really horrible quality and not nice to work with at all, so I’d suggest you use something different. The horseshoes were by Michael Miller and came from ebay.

      Good luck with your quilt – it was a nice and easy pattern to put together, which is always good 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

