A-1: Pinwheel Gone Awry

I seem to be on a bit of a Baby Jane roll at the moment, but production is about to slow dramatically as I’m back to work tomorrow!

Baby Jane block A-1: Pinwheel Gone Awry

So A-1. Ok, this pinwheel definitely went awry! I was following the instructions on That Quilt, and read the warning at the top saying I needed to mirror the block pattern to make it turn out right, but I didn’t do this. It was partly because I’m tracing the patterns from the book and mirroring it would have been harder than tracing, and partly because after I’d traced, I still couldn’t work out why it needed to be mirrored.

Anyway, I went ahead and made the block, and doh, now I understand! The foundation piecing resulted in the block being mirrored, and because the block is asymmetrical, I needed to mirror the pattern to make the block turn out normally. Well I’ll know for next time!

I’m not going to redo the block. This quilt is all about learning new techniques and I’m happy with this block being a reminder of the need to mirror the pattern for foundation pieced asymmetrical blocks!

  • Pieces: 28
  • Fabric: Reflections in mottled pink by Fabric Freedom
  • Description: Foundation pieced
  • Notes: If the instructions at That Quilt say to mirror the pattern, then I should mirror the pattern 😉
6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. True Blue Nana
    Mar 07, 2010 @ 23:44:24

    It might have gone awry but it looks good to me!

    Reply

  2. Robin
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 00:26:49

    It may be awry, but I doubt anyone will notice but you! Lovely work. 🙂

    Reply

  3. ash
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 14:09:41

    Love it. May be awry, but has great personality. And good work you, you have really been blasting through them! They all look terrific.

    Reply

  4. whatktmadenext
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 20:25:57

    Thanks guys 🙂

    Reply

  5. elle
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 00:56:38

    I think this is a very modern block. You are doing a good job!

    Reply

  6. Pip
    Mar 09, 2010 @ 03:54:52

    I made this block the same and didn’t find out I should have mirrored it. I’m not going to redo mine for the same reasons as you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

