C-1: Trooper Green’s Badge

Ok, I love this block! All the seams look crisp and I really like the fabric…

  • Pieces: 13
  • Fabric: No idea, but it’s the same as for J-11: Twin Sister (I’m going to use the same fabric for multiple blocks to keep costs down a bit!)
  • Description: Foundation pieced
  • Notes: Foundation piecing is another new technique for me, but I followed this tutorial and it turned out to be nice and easy (although I guess that’s down to the block being simple!)
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. True Blue Nana
    Mar 06, 2010 @ 21:32:00

    I like that block too. I have never done foundation piecing. How hard was it

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Mar 07, 2010 @ 21:49:02

      It was really, really simple. I found it far more time consuming that normal piecing because I was constantly sewing then ironing then cutting the next piece of fabric then sewing, then ironing and so on… But the block did come out really well so I think it was worth it!

      Reply

  2. Robin
    Mar 07, 2010 @ 16:43:30

    Another lovely block!

    I really like that technique of freezer paper foundation piecing… I love that you don’t have to sew through the paper and do a bunch of tearing after the block is done.

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Mar 07, 2010 @ 21:51:12

      I’ve read about the tear away method but I’d be worried about pulling my stitches loose! The method of folding back the freezer paper seems more sensible, plus I don’t have to worry about blunting my needle.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

