J-11: Twin Sister

Still can’t face the sewing machine, so I did some more appliqué…

Man, those melons just didn’t want to end up in the right position! I lined each one up but as soon as I started basting, they’d shift a bit. Not by much but enough to be wrong. Pah! And don’t get me started on the fabric wrestling involved in trying to make the points pointy!

All in all, I think those melons had minds of their own 🙂 Or perhaps a collective mind – one determined not to be appliquéd. It was still fun though and I’m happy with how it turned out 🙂

  • Pieces: 7 (apparently the square they’re appliquéd onto counts)
  • Fabric: No idea
  • Description: Hand appliqué using the “freezer paper underneath” method
  • Notes: I need to work out a way to baste without shifting the fabric being basted. I also need to work on making pointy points without turning the air blue!
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cheryl Arkison
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 14:52:56

    I’m not sure I have anything to offer on the pointy points problem, but I do have two suggestions for basting. What kind of pins are you using? When I do applique I do a combo of the large pins and the little applique pins. And I pin the crap out of it! Whether you sew baste or just leave the pins, pin it very well to begin with. I would also leave the background a bit larger than you want the finished one to be. If things end up a bit off center then you can trim back to center, hopefully.

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Mar 05, 2010 @ 19:15:36

      This is really helpful, thanks Cheryl. I’ve been sew basting but not pinning first because I found pinning shifted the fabric too. I might give pinning another go (it’s not like I’m short of blocks to practice on!) and using a bigger background and trimming to size is a good tip so I’ll definitely try that out.

      Reply

  2. Robin
    Mar 05, 2010 @ 19:53:56

    You did a beautiful job on this one! I found it to be a real pain in the patootie when I did it too. I just pin-basted each melon as I did it, letting me adjust as I go. As for pointy-points, I found Carrie P.’s tutorial incredibly helpful. You may want to check it out if you haven’t already:

    http://apassionforapplique.blogspot.com/2009/01/freezer-paper-points-tutorial.html

    I haven’t been able to get the starch method to work thus far (because I print the templates on my computer, the ink runs when I do it… but that wouldn’t be a problem with hand-done templates). But the magic toothpick is awesome!

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Mar 06, 2010 @ 11:00:45

      Thanks for the link Robin! I hadn’t come across that blog before and it looks really helpful!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

