Um, I appear to have been shopping…

There are two big quilt shows in my area during the year and the spring one is on right now. I took a day off work to go with my friends Anna and Sarah, as a pre-wisdom-tooth-extraction-treat (they’re coming out tomorrow, eek!).

We had plans to have an easy day looking at lovely quilts and buying some nice fabric, but we arrived to a complete scrum. I have never seen quite so many little old ladies politely elbowing each other in a bid to get at the sale bins. Crazy!

In the end I spent way too much money, but as I told hubby, I only bought what I’d planned to get:

  • Pink fabrics for my crazy Baby Jane
  • Blue and green fabrics for a baby quilt
  • Smaller cutting mat so I can fit both my machine and my mat on the table at the same time
  • 2.5″ square ruler
  • Ring thimble

Then I remembered about the cute baby book panel I got. Oh and the the mini jelly roll (but it was only £8.50 and is full of lovely greens and purples). Then there’s the bells to put in fabric covered foam blocks that I’m going to make at some point. Plus the pack of binding clips and a back issue of a magazine with a great pattern in it…

But other than that, I totally stuck to my list 🙂

I did manage to wangle a freebie carry case for my sewing machine though and I also found out I’m entitled to a free 1 hour lesson on my machine. It should have been mentioned when I bought the machine but it wasn’t. So that’ll be useful.

It wasn’t all shopping though! We spent some time looking at the quilts and there were some truly gorgeous ones, including an incredible one inspired by this.

All in all, it was a good day, and I have lots of fabric to drool over once I’ve had my teeth out! Oh and I’ve given Anna and Sarah permission to slap me if I even mention buying fabric in the next few months…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Robin
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 06:53:20

    That sounds like so much fun! Quilt show season is starting around here next month, and I’m hoping to be able to check out a couple of them. There’s always so much wonderful inspiration to be found. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Anna Cox
    Mar 07, 2010 @ 21:27:26

    great stash!! I still havent got my lot out of the bag!!!! (very little time, plus quite scared by the sheer quanity of fabric!!!)

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Mar 07, 2010 @ 21:37:15

      I’ve got mine spread out on the sofa. Just as well it’s a big sofa otherwise there’d be nowhere to sit!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

