About turn!

In my best army drill sergeant voice, “Aaaaahbouuuut turn”!

So I like the Amy Butler fabrics I picked for my Baby Jane quilt, but I’m not 100% convinced. Ok, ok, I know I’ve been here before, but I think I’m nearly sorted so hang on in there!

I like the fabrics but I’m not convinced their moderness is right for my parents house. However, I really, really want to make a modern Baby Jane. Elle has pointed out that if I’m giving the quilt away, I can only really have input into the colour OR the pattern, so something’s gotta give.  So seeing as I picked the pattern, the modern fabric has to give.

I was talking with hubby last night and he made the same point that Cheryl did on my previous post – I’m going to be making this quilt for a LONG time, so I need to love what I’m doing. He then said I should make it in pink and it can live with us when it’s done. Isn’t he lovely 🙂 Of course he could be banking on the fact that I’ll never get it finished… 😉

Anyway, colour saga over – pink fabrics, here I come… 🙂

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. elle
    Feb 01, 2010 @ 19:34:27

    LOL! I believe the modern vernacular is “YOU GO GIRL”!

    Reply

  2. Eboo
    Feb 01, 2010 @ 20:06:05

    I’ve been watching your Dear Jane quilt saga for a little while now…I’m so glad your hubby caved and will let the pink quilt stay with you forever always! 🙂

    Now what are you going to do with all that beautiful Amy Butler??!

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Feb 02, 2010 @ 21:28:54

      LOL!

      Now the Amy Butler fabric. Well the dots are screaming applique for a baby bib pattern I have and the stripes say binding. Not sure about the honeycomb one though. I’m pretty sure it’ll come in useful though 🙂

      Reply

  3. Cheryl Arkison
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 02:47:14

    Yay for Hubby! He’s so smart. ; )
    PS Also remember that these are small scale blocks, so large scale prints will look very different when used.

    Reply

  4. Anna Cox
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 09:57:55

    Yay for Hubby!!!

    so, about that other fabric………………….. 😉

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Feb 02, 2010 @ 20:07:18

      Er, would that be the fabric I convinced you not to buy, then bought myself?! It may be up for grabs 😉

      Reply

  5. ashley
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 14:53:59

    Will you use hot pink and baby pink like you were thinking earlier?? And you do know that having a pink quilt hanging in your home means you are sure to have a baby boy first! But, I have two and they are dreamy!

    Reply

  6. elle
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 13:25:17

    Pink with some lavender purple??? 8^)

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Feb 05, 2010 @ 20:44:19

      You know, I was thinking about maybe adding in a 3rd colour and lavendar purple might be the one!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

