Hearts are not doilies

I had so much fun last night! I met up with a couple of friends and we had a crafty evening. I crocheted and they sewed and we flicked through books and oogled notions. It was a lot of fun 🙂

Now hubby is not a fan of crochet. Apparently it’s something to do with “all those holes” and “it tends to look like a doily”! I think he’s also secretly worried I’m going to crochet him a jumper or something! So, egged on last night by the crafty girls, I decided to try and change his mind with a heart – awww! What man could resist a wonky crocheted heart from their wife?!

Apparently, this is a step in the right direction because it doesn’t look like a doily! It does have 2 holes though, so he’s not totally convinced. Men!

I did learn a valuable lesson making this. British double crochet is not the same as US double crochet, and I was working from a US pattern. DOH! I should have been doing triple crochet, not double crochet although it didn’t really matter.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy
    Jan 17, 2010 @ 13:38:41

    I used to do a lot of crocheting. It was easy to do when the kids were small. I once made a bunch of Christmas decorations with white string.

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Jan 17, 2010 @ 20:28:56

      Cool! I saw some snowflake patterns recently, which would be fun to do when Christmas comes around again…

      Reply

  2. ashley
    Jan 18, 2010 @ 16:56:32

    too too cute. He should carry it in his wallet always!

    Reply

  3. Anna Cox
    Jan 20, 2010 @ 19:31:03

    if you applique it to the back of one of his jumpers, he will never know!!!! !!!

    Axx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

