Crochet practice

So I’ve made a few attempts at crochet. My first was truly pitiful – completely uneven, skipped stitches all over the place and totally twisted. But after a bit of practice, I’ve made a granny square, albeit in the somewhat unattractive beige wool, that I got free with my 99p crochet magazine!

I’ve also just about got the hang of increases and decreases and although I really need to work on my tension, I’m already scouring my 200 Crochet Blocks book to work out what to make next!

Oh and I have to say a HUGE thanks to my friend Anna, who is a fab crochet-er. She took pity on me when I was completely stuck and sat me down and showed me what to do! I don’t think I’d have got past a foundation chain without her help!

I’d also definitely recommend Crochet Unravelled by Claire Bojczuk as a beginner book. It has great diagrams, with just as many for lefties as for righties, which a lot of books don’t do. Yes, I can use a mirror to get the left-handed version of a picture, but I don’t want to, so a big thumbs up to Crochet Unravelled!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anna Cox
    Jan 20, 2010 @ 19:36:56

    it looks fab!! I’m not showing you anymore, incase you get better than me!! 😉

    Reply

  2. jingle
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 20:21:59

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

