Am I insane to consider this?

Other contenders for the title of this post were “I think I’m going crazy” and “Somebody stop me”…!

I’ve just come across the Dear Jane quilt, and am slightly scaring myself by thinking that it could be a really fun project. There are 225 blocks in it, so at a rate of say 2 a week, it would take over 2 years to finish. But, hey, one of my 2010 goals is to make a bigger quilt!

I really like this version which looks really modern. I also love this monochromatic block by Zonnah’s Addiction who is hand-piecing this quilt. Yes, you did read hand-piecing. Now’s that’s impressive!

Oh, I’m very tempted… I must be mad.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Louise
    Jan 10, 2010 @ 16:13:57

    You know what? I’m also considering it. πŸ™‚ I’ve been on the Dear Jane email list for a while, and will probably try to get hold of the book/cd when I’ve ticked a few UFOs off my list – hopefully some time in the next couple of months.

    Good luck if you decide to go for it – I’ll watch your progress with interest, and we can go mad together when I get around to making a start myself!

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Jan 10, 2010 @ 17:55:19

      Wahey – someone doesn’t think I’m crazy!

      I think I’ll hold off until March to do this because I’ve got a baby quilt to make next month and things will probably end up being quite busy. But after that my todo list is empty so March seems like a good time to kick this off (if I decide to go for it!). I’ll keep an eye on what you’re doing in case you decide to go mad too πŸ™‚

      Reply

  2. Anna Cox
    Jan 10, 2010 @ 18:53:17

    clearly you are alittle mental!!! but I love it and it would be such an achievement!!! (I would get bored of it after a couple of months – but you have better concentration than I do!)

    I LOVE the monochrome one though – that coule be my labour of love!!

    Axx

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Jan 10, 2010 @ 19:08:50

      Only a little mental?! Right now, I think I’m bordering on full-on crazy for even considering this πŸ™‚

      I’d definitely learn an awful lot doing this quilt though because it’s full of techniques I haven’t tried.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

