Looking forward to 2010

Well, I thought I’d set some goals for this year. I’m not making resolutions, because I always break them by the end of January. So these are goals. Totally different…!

Goal 1: Learn to FMQ

This is the biggie – I really want to have the option of doing something other than straight-line quilting.

So by the end of 2010, I’d like to have FMQ-ed a quilt that I’m giving away as a gift. That means not only do I have to be able to FMQ, it has to look good enough to be given away.

Goal 2: Learn new techniques

I’d like to try appliqué, paper piecing and hand quilting. I’d also like to attempt a skirt and learn to crochet.

I’m going to set myself a challenge of making at least one item from every book I got at Christmas. I picked the books because they covered the areas I’d like to learn, so making something from each one should cover this goal.

Goal 3: Make a bigger quilt

So far, my quilts have been pretty small ( I think the biggest has been about 1.2m long) so I’d like to make at least a single bed sized quilt.

So there we have it. My goals for 2010. Now, I just have to find my FMQ foot. I put it somewhere safe when my friend came round with her kids, but I can’t remember where that was! DOH!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy
    Jan 02, 2010 @ 21:59:38

    I am all about setting goals. I like your choices.

    Reply

  2. Cristin
    Jan 03, 2010 @ 18:18:45

    Kt – you’ve got some great goals set foe 2010! I was in the same boat as you with FMQ last year at this time. I wanted to FMQ a real quilt SO BADLY so I practiced practiced practiced with ugly thread (but 100% polyester) and little quilt sandwiches… about 12″x15″ … sorry, i’m not sure what that is in metric, but small-ish – so its easy to work with. I practiced for months… then one night, it just *clicked* and it looked good! If you can find any videos about beginner quilting, they’re VERY helpful! I watched one by professional quilter “Patsy Thompson” and it made all the difference in the world! Here’s her website if it helps: http://patsythompsondesigns.com/

    I just wanted to cheer you on and say GO FOR IT with the crafting goals you have… I’ve never hand quilted, but would like to try sometime. Maybe on a small quilt to start 🙂

    Cheers!
    Cristin

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Jan 05, 2010 @ 22:13:44

      Thanks Cristin, you’ve given me some great tips! I’ve picked up a load of thread and I’m going to try some small quilt sandwiches this weekend and see how it goes 🙂

      Reply

  3. Cheryl Arkison
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 21:07:44

    Those are very good goals. When it comes to FMQ you can practice on the little pieces for a while, but don’t hesitate to move on to bigger pieces sooner rather than later. Until you are working on bigger pieces it is hard to get into a full rhythm. Also, check out http://freemotionquilting.blogspot.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

