Cars and Ponies quilt: Blocks done

Well the blocks are done but it hasn’t exactly been plain sailing! I took a chunk out of my finger whilst cutting fabric (mental note – keep all fingers on the ruler), managed to cut assorted fabric to the wrong size and my quick-unpick has seen more action today that it has been for all my previous quilts combined. I think I must be half asleep or something!

Anyway, here are the blocks and some possible layouts. I’m not sure which one to go with so any comments would be gratefully received!

Layout 1 (sort of v-shapes):

Layout 2 (diagonals):

Layout 3 (rows):

Ok, I’ve just spotted another block that needs the quick-unpick treatment *sigh* . I’d best go do that…

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kris
    Nov 22, 2009 @ 18:31:03

    I love how these blocks came out! I like the first layout the best, I like the randomness of it.

    Reply

  2. Nancy
    Nov 22, 2009 @ 21:14:24

    I absolutely adore this quilt. I am going to look for this fabric this weekend. I like the first one too, not the last one. You did a great job. I like the colors you selected to go with the cars and the way you did the blocks, fantastic job!

    Reply

  3. elle
    Nov 22, 2009 @ 22:12:12

    KT, you have done a smashing (pardon the pun) job. Good colour combos! I very much like the first V shaped layout.

    Reply

  4. ashley
    Nov 23, 2009 @ 03:36:15

    I fourth the motion for the first layout. They colors dance in that one, and complement each other. Oooh, should I have said colours?

    Reply

  5. Sarah
    Nov 23, 2009 @ 16:04:56

    Wow the blocks look brilliant Kate 🙂 I think the first one is the best – it stands out a lot more.

    Reply

  6. whatktmadenext
    Nov 24, 2009 @ 22:17:34

    Thanks guys 🙂 First layout it is!

    Reply

  7. Cheryl Arkison
    Nov 24, 2009 @ 22:45:23

    Poor you with the finger! I’ve done that before and it was bad.

    I like the first layout too. And what a great use of fabric for all the strips.

    Reply

  8. Carol Hansen
    Nov 25, 2009 @ 01:40:18

    Hope your finger gets better soon. I like the V shape layout.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

