WIP Wednesday: Cars and Ponies quilt test block

Here’s my test block for the Cars and Ponies baby quilt. I think it’s turned out pretty well and although I’m still not 100% convinced about some of the fabric, I’m a lot more confident that the quilt will be ok. The car fabric is pretty decent and the red fabric is good quality so I think the layout of a centre square of cars plus a stripe of the red helps anchor the other stripes. At least that’s what I’m hoping 🙂

On a more pressing matter, I was reading Naptime Quilter’s latest quilt-a-long post which has a very helpful section on pressing (see what I did there – pressing matter, pressing fabric?! Oh ok, I’ll not give up the day job…). I’ve always pressed seams on the wrong side of the fabric and used two hands, but Cheryl suggests pressing from the right side and not using your second hand so as not to be tempted to pull at the fabric. I tried this out tonight and it seemed to work better than how I used to do it so I’ll be sticking with her method from now on. Thanks for the tip Cheryl!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kris
    Nov 19, 2009 @ 01:39:10

    I love the colors on this one! can’t wait to see more!

    Reply

  2. Nancy
    Nov 19, 2009 @ 13:44:42

    It looks great. I love the way you did two colors at the bottom, very creative. I don’t ever use stripes but I like what you did here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

