Fab surprise!

I got home this evening to find a parcel waiting for me from my friend Ashley! It has 2 lots of satin blanket binding and a pack of crushed walnut shells to use as a pincushion filler from my friend Ashley! Wow, what a fab thing to come home to. Thank you so much Ashley! Now I have even more reason to finish my wild flower pincushion…

Slightly off topic, Ashley is in the States, I’m in the UK, and the walnut shells are “Crushed English Walnut Shells”. I was going to point out the amusement factor of having English Walnut shells shipped to me from the States, until I decided to check that the English Walnut tree is actually English. Turns out (and I quote wikipedia) “it’s native in a region stretching from the Balkans eastward to the Himalayas and southwest China.” . Just as well I checked… 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy
    Nov 16, 2009 @ 21:53:39

    A pincushion with crushed walnuts shells? Very interesting. Did you friend Ashley make anything interesting with all those English Walnuts?

    Reply

  2. ashley
    Nov 16, 2009 @ 22:19:52

    I did buy a bag for myself as well, but have not used them as of yet. As I was told, the walnut shells not only sharpen your needles and you put them in and out, the oil from the walnut shells also makes them glide through the fabric more easily. We shall see!

    Reply

  3. ashley
    Nov 16, 2009 @ 22:20:39

    oh, and p.s., I did not get to have the walnuts! What a shame!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

