Blog hopping and fabric fruit

So I spent this afternoon setting up google reader to follow my favourite blogs so that I don’t have to keep everyone’s blog addresses in my head. Reading through posts, I followed a link to Modify Tradition, a blog about making traditional blocks with a modern twist, plus posts on what the writers think makes a traditional block and what makes a modern one. Definitely an interesting read if you like modern quilts.

This post on Modify Tradition posts had a link to a cute block on flickr which led me to this post by Retro Mama. Now Retro Mama’s profile pic is a pear pincushion and it got me thinking. I have a fruit bowl sitting empty on the coffee table because the fruit goes in the fridge so that it lasts longer. Would it be good to fill it with some fabric apples and pears, or would that look silly? Hubby didn’t like the idea – I think he sees it as one step away from me making him quilted waistcoats or something, which really wouldn’t fit with his baggy trousers and t-shirts look. I think it could look quite cool though (the fabric fruit, not the quilted waistcoat). Or am I taking homemade a bit too far?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kris
    Nov 08, 2009 @ 20:16:59

    I think in the right fabrics, the fabric fruit could be really awesome! Maybe in unnatural fruit colors (like really bright or something)…

    Reply

  2. Eboo
    Nov 08, 2009 @ 23:23:35

    Bite your tongue, woman! One can never take homemade too far! (Ok, I guess maybe one can, but not where fruit is concerned)

    I think it would look great, and agree with Kris…stick to really vibrant, unexpected colors, and I think it would really have an impact. Not to mention avoiding some potentially embarrassing situations of mistaken fruit identity…

    Reply

  3. Jennifer
    Nov 08, 2009 @ 23:29:45

    I think it sounds like a great idea!

    Reply

  4. elle
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 00:35:24

    YES! Fabric fruit is a terrific idea. No fruit flies, bowl is always full and an experimental bite doesn’t hurt the teeth!

    Reply

  5. Nancy
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 18:02:14

    I love Google reader. Thanks for the tip on those blogs.

    Reply

  6. whatktmadenext
    Nov 09, 2009 @ 20:20:30

    LOL! Sounds like the fabric fruit idea has the thumbs up so I’ll be adding it to my TODO list!
    Thanks for the ideas about fabric colours Kris, it’s made me think of a nice bright blue fabric I’ve been wanting to do something with. No-one will be mistaking a blue pear for something edible… well, if they are, I’d hate to see what they have in their fruit bowl 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

