Colour Wheel Embroidery

Amy at ParkCityGirl made this beautiful embroidered colour wheel a while back. She’s making another one now and is going to post instructions so that anyone can join in (here’s post 1). Now I haven’t done embroidery before, but hey, now seems like as good a time as any to learn so I’m going to give it a go!

Here are my colours. Amy suggested 12 but I’ve ended up with 16 because I wanted some pink in it!

Colour wheel embroidery threads

My local shop had Anchor floss, so I had to convert Amy’s DMC thread numbers to Anchor ones. There were a lot of conversion charts which all gave wildly different values, but I found this one pretty accurate. Plus it lists colour names which I love. “Medium Dark Antique Mauve” anyone? Or how about “Light Nile Green”? Love it! Names are so much more fun than numbers!

Anyway, in case it’s of any use to anyone, plus for my future records, here are the colours I’m using.

  • 47      Red
  • 46      Bright red
  • 925    Light pumpkin
  • 316    Pumpkin
  • 298    Deep canary
  • 295    Light straw
  • 280    Lime green
  • 256    Bright chartreuse
  • 227    Light green
  • 1706 <no name – it’s kinda a dark turquoise>
  • 779    Dark grey green
  • 978    Dark dark baby blue (and yes, that is double-dark!)
  • 1030  Dark blue violet
  • 98      Medium grape
  • 87      Light plum
  • 59      Bright red (hmmm, that’s the same as 46, but this one’s pinky-red)

I can’t wait to start!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eboo
    Nov 02, 2009 @ 23:11:16

    Hey! I’m also doing this with you gals 🙂 I have ALSO never done embroidery. I can’t wait to post my (stringy mess) success!

    Reply

  2. Kris
    Nov 03, 2009 @ 03:31:27

    Those are beautiful! I haven’t done embroidery in a really long time but her project seems like a fun way to get into it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

