Completed: Rainbow Stacked Coins

Well that was one quick quilt to put together! I had the piecing and quilting done over the weekend and I finished the binding tonight! The fact that it’s only teeny-tiny (24″x34″) and I went with very simple quilting (straight lines down the white strips plus a single line around the border) probably helped speed the process up though!

The backing and binding fabrics are the same as for Baby Quilt 2 although I’m still not convinced I chose the right binding. It does pick up a number of the colours in the quilt top but still… I’m just not 100% convinced it’s right! Although having said that, I’m not sure what would work better!

Rainbow Stacked Coins complete

The most important thing I learnt from this quilt was that if  I buy charm packs where the fabric is “approximately 2 1/2″ square”, I should probably square up the fabric first otherwise things can go a wee bit wonky. Also, if I want to square up 2 1/2″ squares, I might need to invest in a ruler smaller than 6″x24″…

Rainbow Stacked Coins - stripes 2

Oh and when I was pinning the white strips to the coloured ones, I found myself only using pins that matched the fabric colour. Anyone else do this, or is it just me?!

Rainbow Stacked Coins - pins

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy
    Oct 28, 2009 @ 00:09:46

    Love what you did. My DIL gave me some charm pack this weekend and I think I will use them to make a coin quilt.

    Reply

  2. elle
    Oct 31, 2009 @ 02:26:58

    This is a very nice rainbow effect. The colours flow wonderfully. The binding could maybe have been a bit darker but it works fine.

    Reply

  3. arlijohn
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 16:54:08

    Really colorful and cute.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

