Roses for Rosa – quilting pics

Ok, I’m still not happy with the quilting for Roses for Rosa, so here are some pics. Here is what it looks like up close. I’m happy with this because you can see the thread colour changing and the way the colours match the fabrics.

Roses for Rosa quilting close up

From a distance, I like the way the outlines make white whirligigs stand out. But the colours in the thread are not really distinguishable and the yellow fades into the white fabric, making the quilting look patchy.

Roses for Rosa quilting from a distance

So what to do? A couple of people have suggested more quilting so I could do more outlines inside the first ones. But will that work or will I just make it look worse, especially if the  other outlines don’t follow the first one exactly (I have a tendency to go a bit squint which is ok for a single line but might not look so good if there are two).

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy
    Oct 17, 2009 @ 22:31:53

    To be honest, I like it the way it is. I think any time you use white you are going to have some blocks that stand out more than other. I like the subtlety. I love the yellow and yes it sort of merges into the white but I like that. I think too much quilting might make the quilt less soft.

    Reply

  2. Kris
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 00:51:42

    I love it as is! When I saw the pictures I thought it looked great and was surprised in the text to hear you aren’t quite satisfied! Give it a couple of days and it’ll look better when you haven’t been staring at it, but that’s just my opinion!

    Reply

  3. whatktmadenext
    Oct 18, 2009 @ 18:30:59

    Thanks for the comments. They’ve made me decide to stop thinking and get on with finishing the quilting!

    Reply

  4. ashley
    Oct 19, 2009 @ 17:26:32

    You are definitely scrutinizing it far more than anyone else ever will. I had the same problem when I made wedding cakes. I would sweat about a tiny piece of the border that no one else will ever notice. The overall image of the quilt is playful and colorful and everyone will adore it!

    Reply

  5. Cheryl Arkison
    Oct 20, 2009 @ 19:52:24

    Everyone else is right, it does look good. And I actually like the yellow.
    How are you with free motion? A compliment to the whirligig could be a free form flower, star, or even a whirligig in the center. Only another suggestion.

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Oct 20, 2009 @ 19:59:31

      Thanks for the ideas. Unfortunately my free motion is non-existent as I only bought a foot recently and have only have about a 15 minute play so far! But it’s high up on my list of priorities as I’d love to be able to try something other than straight lines!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

