Roses for Rosa – quilt top complete

Wahey – I’ve finished the Roses for Rosa quilt top!! But the project is now on hold until the extra backing fabric and thread for quilting it arrive. I was planning on ordering the backing fabric tonight, but I tried two different online shops and the first was asking for card details without being https (so completely unsecure) and the second had an out-of-date security certificate. I’m not about to trust my card details to either site so unfortunately I haven’t ordered the fabric yet. I’ll maybe try a phone order with one of the shops tomorrow…

This afternoon I went to a quilt show with my Mum. There were lots of incredible quilts on display but it was quite amusing how wildly different our tastes are – I think we only agreed on one quilt in the whole show! It wasn’t just a traditional vs modern split either, because I surprised myself by liking some incredibly traditional quilts, and her favourite was a really modern design. I also made some time for some fabric shopping and picked up more for my wild flower pincushion 🙂 There was also a shop selling lots of different flannel fabrics and I found out that you can use flannel and cotton in the same quilt although it’s best to pre-wash because flannel shrinks more than cotton. That’s good to know!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

