Let’s get quilty!

“Let’s get quilty” was the title of a recent email from my friend, Anna, who I gave this quilt to. Anna’s very crafty herself (does awesome knitting and crocheting), but she hasn’t done any quilting… until now. She’s decided she wants to learn, and has roped in another of our friends, Sarah, so between the 3 of us we’re going to do a bit of quilting. Although we’re starting small and making cushions rather than quilts.

Anna is thinking of a wonky log cabin block, based on this tutorial from Quilt Dad (if you scroll down a bit, he’s also made a cushion so that’s the kind of idea) and Sarah is going to do a cushion with appliquéd butterflies on it.

I’ve um’d and ah’d a bit. I started off thinking about making mini pillows for the bedroom but have been struggling to come up with a good design for a rectangular cushion that fits in the colour scheme of the bedroom. Then I remembered I could really do with a cushion to sit on when I’m sewing to boost me up to a better height to use my machine. That meant a square cushion and no colour limits!

So I was having a look around and came across some fab rainbow quilts (check out this, this, this, this and this) so I’ve decided to make a rainbow cushion. I’ve ordered some mini charm packs (2 1/2″ squares) in red, orange, yellow, green, blue and purple and I can’t wait for them to arrive so I can have a play with layouts!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

