Roses for Rosa – uh oh, I have a problem

Turns out that somewhere between working out how much fabric I needed and making the blocks, I managed to increase the block size such that that I don’t have enough of the backing fabric I picked. I’m a good 9″ short so it’s not even close. I think my options are:

  1. Buy another bit of fabric, perhaps getting the right size this time?! Not ideal, but the fabric’s lovely and I’m sure I’d use up the other piece another time. And you can never have too much fabric 😉
  2. Remove a row of whirligigs, leaving a 4×4 layout. It would mean I’d have to redo the layout, which was bad enough the first time and it seems a shame to waste some of the blocks. Although it is the easiest option.
  3. Piece the back, maybe with little whirligig blocks, or maybe strips of squares to match the patchwork square effect of the backing fabric. I’ve been wanting to try a pieced back, so maybe now is the time…

Oh, I know. Let’s try a poll (I like trying out different bloggy features!)…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy
    Sep 22, 2009 @ 21:17:02

    Definitely piece the back. It will make it more interesting.

    Reply

  2. Kris
    Sep 22, 2009 @ 23:08:07

    I like your idea of using the whirlygigs to piece the back! or you could do something similar to this one http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2009/09/elias-quilt.html… She also came up short for backing fabric recently.

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Sep 23, 2009 @ 19:40:42

      That’s not a bad idea! The only flaw is that I don’t really have a stash 😦 I’ve only just started quilting so I’ve just got the fabric for this one and some small left overs from the 3 earlier ones. Hmmm, I definitely need more fabric!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

