Roses for Rosa design – take 2

Ok, here’s my second attempt at a design for my Roses for Rosa quilt (version 1 is here). It’s still a 4 by 5 layout, but I’m using 5 fabrics for the whirligigs, instead of 4. The panels have been narrowed down as I’m thinking of doing them in purple flannel and the wider version seemed too overpowering. The flannel has little pink, yellow, blue and green hearts on it, which works nicely with the 5 whirligig fabrics.

Roses for Rosa design - v2

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy
    Sep 07, 2009 @ 23:49:44

    I just did a pinwheel quilt. I have a picture on my blog.
    http://www.truebluenana.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  2. ashley w. donahue
    Sep 10, 2009 @ 23:57:22

    I love this design for the quilt. I like how the brighter purple bands really make the more pastel whirligigs pop. Can’t wait to see it finished!! And mark this as a comment from Colorado, USA. You’re blog is truly international!

    Reply

  3. Cheryl Arkison
    Sep 11, 2009 @ 04:11:46

    That changes things! What about maybe adding two more panels, but on the horizontal? They would then frame the inner six blocks?
    I’ve never mixed flannels and regular cottons before. Does it work well?

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Sep 12, 2009 @ 08:21:00

      That’s an interesting question about mixing flannels and regular cottons. I have absolutely no idea and a google on the subject doesn’t really throw up anything either. I found a couple of references to flannel being more loosely woven so the seam allowance may need to be increased, but other than that, I can’t find anything. I guess I can try it and see what happens.

      I can’t add any more panels because I only have 1 LQ of the flannel (from a shop 2 hours away when I was visiting OH’s parents) and my local shop doesn’t seem to do flannel. So it’s kinda 2 panels across the width or no panels! I think I’ll piece the whirligigs and then take a pic with them on top of the flannel to simulate the panel and then see how it looks.

      Reply

  4. elle
    Sep 12, 2009 @ 12:39:55

    Coloured blocks may look different from the fabric blocks but the ones that don’t work can always go on the back. Quilting the pinwheels is a good beginner design because the pinwheel ‘petal’ is a very visible space. The colour of each petal gives definite parameters to draw in. Come back to the flower centre and loop out. Think mostly four petals and as you get more comfortable you can go back to some of the blocks you missed and get more improvisational or just do them all with 4 petals. I do find varigated thread more favorable because the thread ‘comes and goes’ so variations in shape are often downplayed. elle

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Sep 12, 2009 @ 15:35:04

      Thanks for the tips πŸ™‚ I really like the variegated thread idea – I think I’ll have to try and get my hands on some.

      Reply

  5. Leila
    Sep 14, 2009 @ 18:51:12

    I think the added red/pink really makes it work.

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Sep 19, 2009 @ 12:00:21

      Thanks πŸ™‚ I’m finally starting to piece the blocks, so proof will be in the pudding soon!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

