Roses for Rosa design

Here’s my design for my Roses for Rosa quilt.

Roses for Rosa design

I’ve got my eye on fabric in these colours and the idea to add in two panels came to me whilst I was sitting in the car this morning. I wanted to quilt this with flowers like this but I haven’t done any free-motion quilting before and I’m worried about messing the quilt up. So I decided to straight-line quilt most of it and then do the flowers on the two panels. I think I’ll probably be able to manage that with a bit of practice.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kris
    Sep 04, 2009 @ 22:31:27

    I came over from Naptime Quilter’s blog. Ooh! I like the whirly giggles and I think the extra panels looks great. I completely understand about worrying about the quilting. I think the flowers would look great though!

    Reply

    • whatktmadenext
      Sep 06, 2009 @ 15:52:35

      Hi Kris! Thanks for stopping by. I was a bit unsure about the panels idea so it’s good to have some feedback. Although after my fabric shopping, where I completely failed to buy anything with flowers, let alone roses, I may have to rethink the flower quilting idea!

      Reply

  2. Cheryl Arkison
    Sep 11, 2009 @ 04:08:55

    At first I wasn’t sure about those panels, but when you explained your quilting idea I think it would work well. If you are really nervous about the free motion quilting I suggest using the busiest fabric you have for the panels.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

