Roses for Rosa

I have a new cousin-once-removed! Being a “once-removed” makes me feel absolutely ancient though! Baby Rosa arrived yesterday to my cousin and her husband who live on completely the other side of the world. Now I wasn’t planning on making a quilt for her, but when I heard the news and the baby’s name, a number of ideas that had been floating around in my head solidified into a quilt idea!

The separate ideas are:

  • I love “whirligig” quilts like this and this
  • There is some lovely pale pink/page green rose fabric by Tone Finnegar in the shops and it would be great to do something with that colour combo
  • I think this flower quilting on Naptime Quilter’s blog is great and I really want to try out something similar

So I combined the quilt block that I really want to do, the rose fabric and the flower quilting motif into an idea for a quilt that I’m going to call Roses for Rosa!

I found this whirligig tutorial by Creative Chicks which looks very well written. I tried making a whirligig out of paper this evening from their template and it was really easy to put together. Although I’m not sure if my whirligig’s are going to be interlocking like the ones in the tutorial, or more like this one by laughingduck.

The only slight flaw in the plan is that I’ve never done any free-motion quilting before. But hey, you’ve got to learn sometime, right!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ashley
    Sep 01, 2009 @ 22:42:20

    Looove the cartwheel blanket!!

    Reply

  2. Cheryl Arkison
    Sep 11, 2009 @ 04:06:44

    Glad to have inspired.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

