Completed: Baby Quilt 3

Slightly ahead of schedule, here is baby quilt 3. I love the colours and I love the pattern. In fact I’m almost sorry to give it away, but I know it’s going to a good home.

Baby quilt 3 complete

The only reason I finished it so quickly is that I skipped half the quilting. There was meant to be a fancy zig-zag pattern on the blue triangles, but I just didn’t have time. So the stripey shapes are outline quilted, there are a couple of lines round the borders, and that’s it. It should be fine as the wadding I used has a maximum quilting distance of 10″ and I’m well within this. I’m just slightly sad I didn’t get a chance to do the zig-zags.

The book I got the pattern from is called “Quick and Easy Projects for the Weekend Quilter”. I not the quickest quilter, but even if I was I don’t think I could have done the entire thing in a weekend. Maybe a long weekend. At any rate, that’s the last time I take my time scales from a book title 😉

So what did I learn from this quilt?

  1. It’s no fun rushing. I’m getting a better idea of how long it takes to put a quilt together which should help ensure I don’t end up skimping again.
  2. It’s a lot easier to use my sewing machine with the pedal rather than the start/stop button. I feel more in control if I don’t have to take my hands off the fabric to stop. I didn’t use the pedal for my previous two quilts, but I’ll be doing so from now on.
  3. The finish is much nicer if the threads are run into the fabric. Previously, I used the sewing machine to do reinforcing stitches at the beginning and end of each piece of quilting. I didn’t think this looked very neat, so this time I manually sewed the threads into the quilt to finish them off and that looks much nicer.

So what’s next? There are no more presents needed until next year, so I don’t need to start on those yet. I was thinking something small. Perhaps a bag. Or maybe I’ll try some free-motion quilting. I’ve also got a book on sashiko from the library, so maybe I’ll try something from that. I’ll have a think…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

